top of page

What do KU students really do when they're stressed?

Exam season is quickly approaching for KU students and if you're not already buried under books, pulling all-nighters in the library or coming down with a stress-induced flu, I hate to say it but you will be soon.

With so many deadlines to meet and exams to prepare for it's easy to get a little overwhelmed, stressed out and generally just fed up. In the hope of making you feel a little less alone in your worries we took to the halls of Penrhyn Road and asked students:

"What do you really do when you start to feel overwhelmed at uni?"

We got some interesting responses including everything from getting organised and making to-do lists to drinking ale and taking a nap.

Some camera shy students also said:

"I can't chill out for an evening unless I've made a to-do list so I know where I need to get started the next day"

"A cup of tea makes everything better"

"If I'm starting to get too stressed out I just take a break and watch Downtown Abbey"

"Probably have a cry if I'm honest"

"Talking to other people on my course usually helps me realise that I'm not the only one stressing and I'm not actually as behind as I think I am"

"I work best under pressure so I put off all my work until the last minute and then just work for hours on end. Probably wouldn't recommend it but it works for me"

While we can't say that going for a pint when you've been slaving away in the library all day doesn't sound like a great shout the university are currently running destress workshops that might result in you being a bit more productive and a little less stressed.

You can attend one of the Destress for Success workshops at Penrhyn Road health centre from 2-3pm every Wednesday and Friday. The session aims to give you realistic ways that you can chill out during the stressful months ahead as well as breathing exercises to do the moment things get a bit too much.

A KU spokesperson said: "The sessions will advise students of different relaxation and meditation techniques to manage anxiety and stress levels during the exam period."

We all get stressed around exam time but it's important that we look after ourselves all year round too. So if you start to feel overwhelmed at any point during the year, pop over to one of the weekly stress management workshops at Kingston Hill or Penrhyn Road and work on your time management skills, learn new study techniques and new ways to relax after a long day at the library.

bottom of page